The Korea Society, a non-profit organization aimed at promoting understanding and cooperation between Korea and the U.S., announced on its official website on August 7th (U.S. time) the winners of this year’s Van Fleet Award, including BTS.


This year, all U.S. veterans who fought in the Korean War and the Korea Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI) will receive the Van Fleet Award with BTS.

The Van Fleet Award was established in 1992 by the Korea Society in honor of General James A. Van Fleet, who served as commander of the Eighth United States Army during the Korean War, and is given to individuals or organizations that contributed to the understanding, cooperation and friendship between the two countries.

BTS was selected as the winner of the Van Fleet Award in recognition of their contribution to the development of South Korea – U.S. relations, creating a global craze through meaningful music and messages.


The major winners of the General James A. Van Fleet Award included the former U.S. president Jimmy Carter (2000), former U.S. Secretary of State Henry Kissinger (2009), former U.S. president George W. Bush (2017), former South Korea president Kim Dae Jung (2007), former UN Secretary-General Ban Ki Moon (2004), Lee Kun Hee, chairman of Samsung Electronics (2006), Chung Mong Koo, chairman of Hyundai Motor Group and Kia Motors Corp. (2009).

The Korea Society will hold the ‘2020 Van Fleet Award’ online on October 7 to avoid COVID-19, and BTS will deliver their acceptance speech through video.