New Journey to the West” has confirmed its cast for the upcoming season without Ahn Jae Hyun.

On August 31, it was reported that Ahn Jae Hyun would not be appearing in the eighth season of the show.


This was confirmed by the “New Journey to the West” staff who said, “We’ve spoken with Ahn Jae Hyun’s side and came to the decision that he will not be with us this season.” They added, “The members of the seventh season will be joining us for the next season.”

This means that the eighth season’s cast will feature Kang Ho Dong, Lee Soo Geun, SECHSKIES’s Eun Ji Won, Super Junior’s Kyuhyun, WINNER’s Song Mino, and Block B’s P.O.


Filming was originally set to begin in August, but the schedule has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.